

Press Release

German Book Prize 2018: The six finalists

The jury has selected six novels for the shortlist of the German Book Prize 2018:

- María Cecilia Barbetta: Nachtleuchten (S. Fischer, August 2018)
- Maxim Biller: **Sechs Koffer** (Kiepenheuer & Witsch, September 2018)
- Nino Haratischwili: Die Katze und der General (Frankfurter Verlagsanstalt, August 2018)
- Inger-Maria Mahlke: Archipel (Rowohlt, August 2018)
- Susanne Röckel: **Der Vogelgott** (Jung und Jung, February 2018)
- Stephan Thome: Gott der Barbaren (Suhrkamp, September 2018)

Regarding this selection, Christine Lötscher (independent critic), jury spokesperson for the German Book Prize 2018, says: "The past is never dead. It's not even past' – This famous line, which Faulkner wrote in 1951, hangs like an unspoken motto over this year's German-language literature. The six novels deemed by the jury to be the most important and well executed of the year each follow completely different paths into the past or into mythical layers of reality – fabulating, speculating, playful; with laconic elegance and bittersweet precision, with epic slowness and suspenseful momentum. These journeys through space and time do not offer us any answers, let alone any simple truths. Which makes us, as readers, give in with all the greater fascination to the multi-voiced narrative compositions and to the sensuousness of another time, which always evokes ours."

Since the submission process began, the seven members of the jury have reviewed 199 titles published between October 2017 and 11 September 2018.

In addition to Christine Lötscher, the members of the jury for the German Book Prize 2018 are: Christoph Bartmann (Goethe-Institut Warsaw), Luzia Braun (ZDF), Tanja Graf (Literaturhaus Munich), Paul Jandl (independent critic), Uwe Kalkowski (literary blog "Kaffeehaussitzer") and Marianne Sax (Bücherstube Marianne Sax bookstore, Frauenfeld).

The Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels Stiftung – the foundation of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association – awards the German Book Prize 2018 to the best German-language novel of the year. The winner receives 25,000 euros, the five finalists 2,500 euros each. The award



ceremony will be held on 8 October 2018 in the Frankfurt Römer to coincide with the start of the Frankfurter Buchmesse.

The German Book Prize is awarded by the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels Stiftung. It receives funding from the Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation), and additional partners include the Frankfurter Buchmesse and the city of Frankfurt am Main. The television network Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize in its media activities both at home and abroad. Those interested can watch the award ceremony via live stream at www.deutscher-buchpreis.de.

The radio stations Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandfunk Kultur will also broadcast the ceremony as part of the "Dokumente und Debatten" programme on digital radio and on deutschlandradio.de/debatten.

Starting on 26 September 2018, the website www.new-books-in-german.com will feature English translations of excerpts from the shortlisted titles, along with an English-language dossier about the shortlist. "The Book Prize Bloggers" will present all the nominated titles on www.deutscher-buchpreis-blog.de. After reading the 20 books on the longlist, the bloggers write reviews and provide background information and contributions for critical debate. This content will also be presented on the Facebook page of the German Book Prize and under the hashtag #dbp18.

Downloads

Press photo and information about the nominated titles for download

Frankfurt am Main, 11 September 2018

Contacts for the media:

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V. **Thomas Koch**, Director of Press and Public Relations Tel. +49 (0) 69 1306-293, e-mail: t.koch@boev.de **Cathrin Mund**, PR Manager

Tel. +49 (0) 69 1306-292, e-mail: mund@boev.de